Home         Kids        Heroes         Resources         Scholarships     More Links         Contact



Betty Lou Pedersen - Victoria, Texas


I was born in South Texas in 1943. I was named Betty Lucylle Jank. I was born with the affect of ABS. I was born with only two small fingers on my left hand. I have a palm.

As I aged I would often ask why I was this way. I was told all kind of reasons. I really do not think my family knew the answer to this question in those days and made something up to just satisfy my curiosity.

My parents divorced when I was two years old. I was the only child in this marriage. My father received custody of me when the marriage ended. He remarried when I was five years old. From this marriage came three sons.

My family lived on a farm and ranch. My father was a farmer and raised cattle. I was a loner in my younger years. I had a dog named Spot. I would always go rabbit hunting with him in our meadows. I did not start school until I was seven years old.

My father sheltered me very much. To this day,I can't help but feel my father maybe was ashamed of me. I am very shy of my hand. I think it is because of the way my dad treated me. I know that my biological mother wasn't ashamed of me because we talked many times about everything that bothered me. I did not live with my biological mother. When I did start to school, I was sent to a Catholic Academy in another town. Memories just came to me about something. My father tried to even get me in this academy to become a nun. They wouldn't accept me. In later years I would think back and this would hurt me so just to think about what my dad tried to do. To this very day, it hurts me so much. I went to this school for two years. My parents then enrolled me in the public school in our home town. I graduated from this school.

At the age of eighteen, I left home and entered Beauty School and graduated from this school. I met my first husband while going to beauty school. We married in 1963. We had two children. A girl named, Mia Yvette and a son named Charles. Mia is married and a mother to three children, my grandchildren. I was married nearly thirty-nine years. After many years of verbal and physical abuse, I decided I didn't deserve this kind of treatment and filed for a divorce.

I lived with my step-mother until I met my husband. I inherited four stepchildren and two grandchildren. My husband is a plumber. Our main hobby is raising quarter horses. I have looked for quit a while on the computer and finally found information about ABS. I am finally finding peace within my self, after these many years. I just wish I could find other adults in my age group so we could talk or e-mail each other. I do all my typing with my right hand. Taught myself to type. If you have any questions,please ask.

You would like to communicate with Betty Lou? You can contact her via email.

If you want to be a SuperHands Kid or Hero, or know any inspiring stories that would be a benefit to this site's viewers, please send me an email. Thank You!

Home         Kids        Heroes         Resources         Scholarships     More Links         Contact

SuperHands.US